RU

Geo-information systems and remote Sensing


GEF/ UNDP project "Establishment of the Nuratau-Kyzylkum Biosphere Reserve" Component on GIS and RS Services (2002-2004)

Nuratau-Kyzylkum Biosphere Reservation, with total area of 24 000 km<sup>2</sup> , occupying the Nuratau state reserve, part of Arnasay preserve, and also Aydar-Arnasay lake system in the middle reaches of Syrdarya River have significant water protection, erosion - preventive and mudflow protection importance for Uzbekistan.

The main objectives of this project were preparation of plan and demarcation of the general boundaries and internal zones of the reserve, and development of the long-term plan for management of the Nuratau-Kyzylkum Biosphere Reserve relying on the normative and legal, environmental, and socioeconomic criteria and principles of sustainable naturalresourcesuse. The management approaches and methods, that were being implemented and demonstrated by this project, made the real contribution to achievement of the sustainable links and compatibility between land/water use and protection of ecosystems within watershed. In general, implementation ofthe projectinterventions will facilitate increase of the country’s reserve territory

In accordance with the target tasks of this Component, the Institute provided the costbeneficial, reliable and sustainable GIS data base of the Nuratau-Kyzylkum Biosphere Reserve project as a model for conservation of biodiversity in Uzbekistan, as well as GIS/RS training for project staff and experts.


GEF/ADB CACILM Project on «Sustainable and Management Information System (SLM-IS)» (2008-2009)

GEF/ADB Project Sustainable Land Management Information System (SLM-IS) was implemented by UZGIP Institute in the framework of the Central Asian Countries Initiative for Land Management (CACILM) in the spirit of UNCCD. CACILM is a multi-country and multi-partner long-term (2006-2016) program aimed at restoring, maintaining and enhancing productive functions of land in five countries of Central Asia, while preserving its ecological integrity and functions.

The main objective was an increasing institutional capacity to enhance reliable monitoring and assessment of land degradation and adaptation of an integrated approach to land use planning and management, taking into consideration current international efforts towards a harmonization of land data and information management. Specific tasks were design of the SLM Information System and incorporation it into global land use system mapping (FAO-LUS).

Based on analysis and compilation of the available data, maps, satellite images and biophysical resource base CACILM Land Use map was prepared, which included 8 main classes of land cover ( forest, shrubs, agricultural lands, wetlands, bare areas, etc).

The new National Land Use System (LUS) map have been prepared in accordance with FAO LADA (2009) guidelines. It consists of 25 classes of land use, each of them is divided into 3-4 sub classes depending on biophysical attributes of ecosystem, land use attributes and social economic features.

EN

Гео-информационные системы и дистанционное зондирование


Проект ГЭФ/ПРООН «Создание Нуратау-Кызылкумского биосферного резервата» Компонент услуги по географическим информационным системам (ГИС) и истанционному зондированию (ДЗ) (2002-2004 г.г.)

Нуратау-Кызылкумский резерват общей площадью 24000 км<sup>2</sup>, имеющий важное противоэрозионное и селезащитное значение, включает в себя Нуратинский государственный заповедник, участок Арнасайского заказника на юго-востоке Кызылкумов, а также Айдар-Арнасайскую систему в среднем течении реки Сырдарья.

Главной целью проекта было планирование и демаркация общих границ и внутренних зон резервата, разработка долгосрочного плана управления им на основе нормативно-правовых, экологических и социально-экономических критериев и принципов устойчивого природопользования. Подходы и методы, которые были применены и наглядно показаны в проекте, внесли вклад в достижение устойчивых связей и взаимодействия между земле/водопользованием и защитой экосистемы в пределах бассейна. В целом, в результате реализации проекта будет увеличена заповедная площадь страны.

В соответствии с целями этого компонента, институтом создана экономически эффективная, надежная и устойчивая ГИС база данных для проекта Нуратау-Кызылкумского биосферного резервата, как модели для сохранения биоразнообразия в Узбекистане, и проведено обучение специалистов и экспертов данного проекта в области ГИС/ДЗ методов.


Проект ГЭФ/АБР ИСЦАУЗР «Информационная система устойчивого управления земельными ресурсами» (2008-2009 г.г.)

Проект «Информационная система устойчивого управления земельными ресурсами (ИСУУЗР)» реализован институтом УзГИП в рамках Фазы 1 долгосрочной программы помощи странам Центральной Азии в выполнении конвенции ООН по борьбе с опустыниванием и засухой – ИСЦАУЗР. ИСЦАУЗР является многострановой мультипартнерской долгосрочной (2006 – 2016 г.г.) программой, имеющей целью восстановление, поддержку и повышение продуктивных функций земли в пяти странах Центральной Азии при сохранении их экологической целостности.

Цель проекта – повышение потенциала институтов страны по оценке и мониторингу деградации земли и внедрение интегрированного подхода к планированию и управлению землепользованием с использованием современны международных достижений по управлению информацией. Специфическая задача проекта заключалась в создании геоинформационной системы по УУЗР и интеграция в глобальную систему картирования землепользования (FAO – LUS).

В результате анализа и обработки имеющихся данных, аналоговых карт и спутниковых снимков была составлена Карта землепользования (ИСЦАУЗР), включающая в себя 8 основных классов по земельному покрову (леса, луга, кустарники, с/х земли, населенные пункты, ветланды, площади с редким вегетативным покрытием и голые участки со снежниками, ледниками и водной поверхностью).

На основе методического руководства ФАО впервые в Узбекистане создана объединенная карта системы землепользования LUS, состоящая из 25 классов, каждый из которых подразделяется на 3-4 подкласса, в зависимости от биофизических атрибутов, атрибутов землепользования и социально-экономических индикаторов.